Peru here I come!

By Natalie Davis

Ever since I was a little girl, I have always loved helping others, and finding ways to give back to the community.  I feel that God has blessed me with the desire to help others and make a difference in any way I can.  I have always dreamed of doing something so amazing as to travel to a different country, whether it was to build trenches in Africa, or… teach English in Peru to underprivileged children.  Vive Peru is an amazing program that hosts volunteers to help with teaching English, handling social work, teaching music, assisting in clinical medicine, public health and engineering.

teaching    surgical-pic

The program that I want to go into would be to teach English to children in primary and secondary public schools, and I would also get to help the staff and parents to put on events for children from disadvantaged communities!  The program would last for a month, I would arrive June 26 and depart July 31!

teachingenglish.JPG

Right now, I am in the middle of the application process; I just submitted my application, and resumé and I am waiting to hear back!  The next step is figuring out the funding for the program, and that’s where the fun part will be.  The entire trip, including airfare, program fees, and insurance, comes out to be an estimate of $3000.  I believe that from the help of friends, family, and generous strangers, that I can raise this amount before my trip!  I ask that if you find it in your heart to donate, click on the link below to go to my GoFundMe page.  It doesn’t matter the amount, anything is appreciated!  I am trying to save money where I can, (I even have a counting coin jar going!) and I know that with the help of my community that together, we could make this dream come true!

Vive Peru Summer of 2017

I have also included my personal statement that I wrote in my application.  If you want to read through it to see where my heart is coming from, I highly encourage you to do so!

PERSONAL STATEMENT

  • Please prepare a brief personal statement addressing the following questions (500-1000 words)My name is Natalie Davis and I am pursuing a volunteer position in teaching english and social work for Vive Perú because I believe it will be an opportunity for me to make a positive impact in the lives of those in need. As a Junior at Arizona State University, I have been working for the past three years toward my degree in Marketing, and I have narrowed down my search for fulfilling careers to a position in a Non-Profit Organization, working toward a cause that I can believe in, mind, body and soul. I am very excited to embark on this journey to work toward a humanitarian goal. I have always strived to be a part of community service within my own community, but I desire to expand my horizons and go abroad this summer to experience Peru, and all of its wonderful Cultural elements it offers. During my time at Arizona State, I have enjoyed working with through Kappa Delta Sorority to help mentor our local girl scouts and spread our Confidence Coalition. I would like to spread our Confidence Coalition into the community I will be working with, empowering others to feel confident in themselves. Since I was a little kid, I have always wanted to make a difference in the world! I started when I was 12 years old and volunteered as a Sunday School assistant. From that point on, I always felt called to serve in any organization that I could! I began working as a candy striper at the hospital for the summer, then I worked in the coffee shop to raise money for the church, and when I entered into high school, I served as the Vice President of my school’s Key Club to recruit high school students to volunteer within the community. In my Senior year of high school, I was accepted into the National Honor Society, and I worked as a tutor for our school district, When I joined the community at Arizona State University, I found Kappa Delta Sorority and began working toward raising money and awareness for Prevent Child Abuse America. I have really enjoyed my time within this organization and I desire to continue seeking out different methods of helping the local community, but I also desire to see what else the world has to offer. I believe that through serving as a volunteer in this program, I would be able to make a real difference in the lives and the communities that God is calling me toward. As a Christian, I want to serve the Lord in his mission to help and love others, and I feel very fortunate in the life that he has blessed me with. I also hope to learn more about the culture, and gain perspective about the world outside of the United States. Furthermore, I aspire to pursue a career in Non-Profit, helping struggling communities and individuals to thrive and grow, and I believe the experience that this program has to offer will be a great way to get my feet wet. Lastly, I hope, while in Peru, that I would be able to work on my Spanish speaking in order to grow in my own Hispanic background. As a student at Arizona State University, we believe in education becoming available to anyone that is willing to learn. I would be a great advocate for this mission in Peru, teaching English within the community. My background working as a tutor is a great skill that I have already developed, which includes the ability to exhibit patience, charisma, and determination to help others. I am a great listener, and with this attribute I can be an advocate for the the community to help in the areas that they really need help. Additionally, I have a very empathetic heart, and would love to share my knowledge and hands to help build a better community. Finally, I am an aspiring writer, and I hope to journal and blog about my time in this program in order to help spread awareness on social media. I hope that you will consider all of the attributes and experience that I have expanded on above. I will leave you with this sentiment: Espero que algún día, pueda hacer un diferencia real.

 

One thought on “Peru here I come!

Leave a Reply

